Department of Community and Economic Development

Contact Information

Gina Hofstetter
(440) 279-1794

Tina Breunig
Office Coordinator
(440) 279-1790

Elaine Malkamaki
Program Coordinator
(440) 279-1791

Community and Economic Development
12611 Ravenwood Drive
Suite 370
Chardon, Ohio 44024

Fax:  (440) 285-7761

Welcome to Geauga County, Ohio!

Geauga County Ranks 1st in State Wide County Health Rankings!
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps

The Department of Community and Economic Development (CED) and its services are a result of policy decisions by the Geauga County Board of Commissioners.

The CED develops and implements strategies and programs to retain and expand county businesses and increase jobs. This Department administers the Geauga Revolving Loan Fund and the County Local Revolving Loan Fund Program. The CED programs address public improvements, fair housing, and rehabilitation of existing housing stock.

Explore our web site to learn more about our services for Geauga County residents and businesses. Our business services include confidential information and assistance in locating sites, buildings, financing and state and local incentives. We maintain an economic development data base, which consists of sites, buildings, financing and other incentive programs. The "About Geauga" page contains profiles and related information about Geauga County and Northeast Ohio.

Are you looking for a new home for your business? How about reaching out to the community you're already a neighbor in? Check out our Community Maps page and better acquaint yourself with Geauga County and all we have to offer!

We have added a new program to reflect real-time Industrial and Commercial Property listings in Geauga County. Click the following image to view all current for sale and for lease buildings and sites:

Building  Map


Community Development Responsibilities

  • Administers Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds:
    • Water and sewer grant program
    • Formula program funds
    • Economic development program grants
    • Fair housing program

Business Services and Resources

  • Low interest loan funds to county businesses
  • Data base of available industrial building sites
  • Industrial Revenue Bonds (IRB) capability in conjunction with the Geauga CIC
  • Community Reinvestment Area (CRA)  tax incentive program
  • Assistance locating Ohio Incentive Programs such as
    • Job creation tax incentive programs
    • Manufacturing Equipment Tax Credit
    • State of Ohio Economic Development Financing

Board of County Commissioners' Seal This department reports to the Board of County Commissioners:
James W. Dvorak, Timothy C. Lennon, and Ralph Spidalieri.